North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health ¢ N.C. Vital Records
https://vitalrecords.nc.gov
Mail: 1903 Mail Service Center Telephone: 919-733-3000 Location: 225 North McDowell St.
Raleigh, NC 27699-1900 Raleigh, NC 27603-1382

Application for a Copy of a North Carolina Birth Certificate

Full Name on Certificate

(If adopted, provide new information) First Name Middle Name Last Name
Date of Birth | | Sex O Male Q Female
Month  Day Year Were parents married
Place of Birth at time of birth? Q Yes O No
City County Is this person deceased? O Yes O No
Full Name of Mother/Parent
(Adoptive parent, if applies) First Name Middle Name Last Name Last Name prior to first marriage, if applies
Full Name of Father/Parent
(Adoptive parent, if applies) First Name Middle Name Last Name Last Name prior to first marriage, if applies
Check all boxes that apply; add the fees in 1-3 . . . .
and place the total amount in #4. Your Relationship to the Person Whose Certificate is Requested:
| See further instructions on Page 2. (Check One)
| 1. Order Certificate O Self Q Authorized agent, attorney or legal representative of
Processing times vary. ) ) QO Spouse (Current) the person listed (Proof REQUIRED)
| Check website for current information. O Brother/Sister Q  Other (may not be entitled to a certified copy)
| (Non-refundable fee) Q Child/Stepchild Specify:
| g Certlﬁcate.S'earch anq First Copy ($24) $ O Parent/Stepparent
e additional copies x $15 $ O Grandparent
[l O Certified .
(Suitable for legal purposes) O Grandchild
=l O Uncertified How do you plan to use this record?
E (Not suitable for legal purposes)
~ 2. Record Changes (Only if applies)
= Appointment required for in-person services. (Please Print)
8 (815 non-refundable processing fee) Requestor:
M O Adoption $ Print Name of Person Requesting the Certificate
% O Amendment $ Address:
E O Name Change $ Street Address (P.O. Box cannot be used for expedited shipping)
4 O Legitimation Court Order $
; O Legitimation (mother married father P.O. Box (If mailing to a P.O. Box, street address must also be listed above)
5 after child’s birth) $
=4 O Paternity (no fee) $_0.00 City, State and Zip Code
% O Other $
Q 3. Faster Service (Choose only one) (Area Code) Telephone Number (During business hours)
| Optional for mail-in requests - Must write “Expedite” | poood1 A ddress:
on the outside of the envelope.
| ($15 non-refundable expedite fee) Payment: Please pay with a cashier’s check or money order made payable to N.C. Vital
| O Walk-in Service ($15) $ Records. Personal checks are not accepted. Requests that are submitted with no payment
O Expedited Processing ($15) $ or incomplete payment or incomplete information will be returned. Credit card payment is
| (Shipped by regular mail) available for walk-in customers.
| O Expedited Processing and
Expedited Shipping ($35) $ IDENTIFICATION OF THE PERSON REQUESTING A CERTIFICATE
| (Call for expedited shipping fees outside the continental United States) IS REQUIRED.
4. Total Fees See Page 2 for a list of acceptable IDs.
(Add 1+2+3 above for total) $

1 hereby certify that all the above information is true to the best of my knowledge. Note: It is a felony violation of North Carolina Law (G.S.
130A-26A) to make a false statement on this application or to unlawfully obtain a copy or a certified copy of a birth certificate.

Signature of Person Requesting the Certificate Date Signed

Office Use Only: SEN DCN Cartridge/Frame
Amount received: $ Identification presented

Request number Request date
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Order Certificate

A certificate search costs $24 and includes one copy if the certificate is located. The search covers a three year
period. Requests are processed in the order received and can take up to five weeks plus the mail delivery time.
The search fee is required to process a request and is non-refundable even if a record cannot be located.

Record Changes

Complete this section only if you are making a request to change information on the birth certificate. The $15
processing fee to review your request is non-refundable. In-person assistance for this service is by appointment
only. Please call (919) 792-5986 to schedule an appointment. If your request involves more than one birth
record, the $15 processing fee applies to each individual’s birth record that requires change(s).

Faster Service

To receive expedited service you MUST write “Expedite” on the outside of the envelope. This is a non-
refundable fee. For current processing times for expedited requests, see our website at https://vitalrecords.
nc.gov/.

Identification Requirement

Due to identity theft and other fraudulent use of vital records, ID of the person requesting a certificate is
REQUIRED. Requests that do not include ID will be returned. You MUST include a legible photocopy of
one of the photo IDs listed below with your request:

e Current state-issued driver’s license (address must match requestor’s address on application)

e Current state-issued non-driver photo ID card (address must match requestor’s address on application)
e Current Passport or Visa (must include photo)

e Current U.S. military ID

e Current Department of Corrections photo ID card dated within the last year

e Current state or U.S. government agency photo ID card (for persons requesting certificates as part of that
agency’s business)

e Current student ID card with copy of transcript

If you do not have one of the IDs listed above, you must provide legible photocopies of TWO of the following
(must be two DIFFERENT forms of ID):
e Temporary driver’s license

e Current utility bill with current address

e (Car registration or title with current address

e Bank statement with current address

e Pay stub with current address

e Income tax return/W-2 form showing current address

e Letter from government agency dated within the last six months and showing current address

e State-issued concealed weapon permit showing current address

If you are unable to meet our ID requirements, a family member or other person
who is entitled to obtain the certificate, and who can meet the ID requirements, may request it.
A list of persons entitled to obtain certificates is located on our website at
https://vitalrecords.nc.gov/fags. htm.
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